The Seven Chakras of the Human Body


The Seven Chakras of the Human Body

The word “Chakra” is an ancient word derived from Sanskrit texts that literally translates to the word “wheel”.  Chakras were recognized by ancient cultures as the seven energy points within the human body that, if properly balanced and aligned, could boost an individual’s energy, consciousness, immune system, and overall well being.  These seven energy points are activated by various sounds and lights and can be harmonized together in order to achieve daily spiritual goals such as success, understanding and peace.  As well as tantric and yogic exercise can also be practiced in order to boost or maintain the seven energy points within the body.


Crown Chakra

The Crown Chakra in ancient Sanskrit was referred to as “Sahasrara” which could be defined as “1000 Petal Lotus.”  This is because the Crown Chakra represents pure consciousness.  The Crown Chakra is located around the pituitary gland and is highly associated with the energy that is not of the human body.  Meditation is often the best exercise to practice in order to develop the Crown Chakra.


Brow Chakra

In ancient Sanskrit the Brow Chakra is referred to as “Ajna” or “Third Eye.”  The Brow Chakra is located around the pineal gland and is mostly responsive to colors such as violet, indigo, and a deep blue.  Meditation is one of the best ways to develop the Brow Chakra and doing so will provide the individual with mental clarity, intuition, and inner guidance.


Throat Chakra

The Throat Chakra, according to the ancients, is an important Chakra amongst an individual’s daily life.  Also known as “Vishuddha” in Sanskrit the Throat Chakra is primarily associated with spiritual security and communication.  The Throat Chakra physically governs communication while emotionally governing independence.  Likewise the Throat Chakra also mentally governs fluent thought making this energy point vital for daily life.


Heart Chakra

The Heart Chakra, also known as “Anahata” in ancient Sanskrit, centers on the energy of love.  However, the Heart Chakra, if properly balanced, covers a wide range of emotional, spiritual, and mental abilities around the feeling of love.  The Heart Chakra is also capable of boosting an individual’s immune system if properly aligned as well as their self esteem and is a great energy point to deter stress.  The Heart Chakra is a great energy point to focus on when dealing with issues such as complex emotions, compassion, unconditional love, well being, rejection, and of course tenderness.


Solar Plexus Chakra

The Solar Plexus Chakra, much like the Throat Chakra, is vital to daily life.  Also known as “Manipura” in ancient Sanskrit today’s translation would best be defined as “sustenance into energy”.  This is because the Solar Plexus Chakra primarily centers on the individuals physical area of digestion overseeing the transition from food into energy.  The Solar Plexus Chakra also governs our emotional needs such as personal power, anxiety, fear, and feelings regarding the formation of opinions of ourselves and others.


Sacral Chakra

The ancients referred to the Sacral Chakra as “Swadhisthana” which best translates into “reproduction” from Sanskrit.  Located around the genitals of both men and women the Sacral Chakra is a very powerful Chakra regarding sexual hormones and the physical process of reproduction.  Emotionally the Sacral Chakra also governs enthusiasm as well as mentally the Sacral Chakra governs creativity.


Root Chakra 

The Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine and is immediately related to security, instinct, human potential, and survival.  Known as “Muladhara” in ancient Sanskrit the best translation today would be “fight or flight”.  This is because the Root Chakra primarily governs the human side of our spiritual and physical nature.  If properly balanced and aligned the Root Chakra is capable of maintaining feelings of stability, sensuality, and security adding to the individual’s ability for survival if even slightly under threat.



“Chakra Balancing Healing.” By Reiki for Holistic Health

Alden Morris
Proprietor at All Done Marketing
Alden Morris is a freelance writer and producer of content aimed to create interest, inspire, and educate.