Finding an ingredient listed as “natural flavorings” may very well be one of the most confusing, misleading and costly issues we face today with truth in labeling practices.
In fact, as a Vegan this is especially troublesome because companies are not required to list the source of the flavorings, whether from animal or plant.
So, let’s go over some definitions and then I’ll give some examples of typical natural flavorings and their sources as well as other hidden animal sources in our food supply.
Let’s start with the official definition as stated in the U.S. Code of Federal Regulations (Title 21, Section 101, part 22):
“The term natural flavor or natural flavoring means the essential oil, oleoresin, essence or extractive, protein hydrolysate, distillate, or any product of roasting, heating or enzymolysis, which contains the flavoring constituents derived from a spice, fruit or fruit juice, vegetable or vegetable juice, edible yeast, herb, bark, bud, root, leaf or similar plant material, meat, seafood, poultry, eggs, dairy products, or fermentation products thereof, whose significant function in food is flavoring rather than nutritional”
Both artificial and natural flavors are made by flavorists in a laboratory by blending either “natural” chemicals or “synthetic” chemicals to create a desired flavor and as you can imagine, it truly is a science.
Gary Reineccus, a professor in the department of Food Science and Nutrition at the University of Minnesota, says that the distinction between natural and artificial flavorings is based on the original source of these often identical chemicals.
Natural flavorings basically just means that before the source went through many chemical processes, that it originally came from a natural source as opposed to artificial which has no natural origin. So, if it came from nature, then is it natural and if its natural does that translate to better for you than its artificial cousin? Not always.
Let’s take a look at some examples.
Wine clearly comes from grapes. Grapes come from a vine. So, should we assume therefore that it’s Vegan? Nope. According to research conducted by the Vegetarian Journal, a clarifying or fining agent makes wine clear by removing proteins from the wine.
Depending on the type of wine and the desired flavor, different types of proteins are used. Some clarifiers are animal-based, while others are earth-based. Common agents include egg whites, milk, casein, gelatin and isinglass (prepared from the bladder of the sturgeon fish).
Bentonite, a clay earth product, serves as a popular fining agent. The main problem here is that the ingredient list (if one even exists on the label) will not state the clarifying agent as an ingredient because it is removed from the final product.
Some consumers might assume that if a wine is Kosher that it ensures that animal-based clarifying agents are not used but this is not so. The Union of Orthodox Jewish Congregations stated that all their Kosher certified American-made wines do not currently use gelatin, isinglass or egg whites.
As far as international Kosher wines go, the Orthodox Union states that wine could theoretically be certified even if egg whites or gelatin were used because they are removed from the final product. If in doubt about your favorite wines, contacting the company directly seems to be the only way of knowing for sure.
This chemical is derived from a gland taken out of beaver and is located very close the beaver’s anus. I know it may be hard to believe but after a lot of processing, it is considered a legal “natural flavoring” and will be listed as such in an ingredient list.
Common foods that might contain castoreum are raspberry, strawberry and vanilla flavoring, ice cream, soda and yogurt.
Below you’ll find a list of reported foods and beverages containing castoreum extract according to Fenaroli’s Handbook of Flavor Ingredients published in 2005:
Reported Uses PPM (parts per million) (Fema* 1994):
Some of you may recall the media frenzy around Starbucks just a few months ago when a certain Vegan journalist got a tip from one of their employees that they had replaced an artificial coloring agent with Carmine in their Strawberry Frappuccino’s.
Natural Red #4 is made from the cochina beetle. These beetles are dried, ground up, processed and added to foods that are designed to have a red coloring or food that is supposed to be red but lost its coloring during processing.
To their credit, Starbucks responded by removing Carmine and replacing it with tomato extract the following month.
Chewing Gum, Maple Syrup and E numbers
Most chewing gums innocuously list “gum base” as one of their ingredients, masking the fact that petroleum, lanolin, glycerin, polyethylene, polyvinyl acetate, petroleum wax, stearic acid (stearic acid is used as a binder in foods and its source may be either animal or vegetable. It is also used in butter flavoring, vanilla flavoring and candy). Furthermore, many brands list glycerin and glycerol as ingredients, both of which can be animal derived.
Maple syrup is sometimes treated with a very small amount of animal fat, butter or cream to reduce foaming but most modern producers use synthetic compounds according to the Vegetarian Resource Group.
Basically, if you want to know then ask the company what kind of de-foaming agent they use.
What about when a “natural flavor” has an E number? Here are the numbers you will want to avoid:
• E120-cochineal(red food coloring made from crushed beetles
• E542-edible bone phosphate
• E631-sodium 5’-inosinate
• E920-L-cysteine hydrochloride
Should a Vegan always assume that if a company lists “natural flavorings” that they are doing so because they have something to hide?
Although some, in fact, do not want it publicly known that they’re using crushed beetles or beaver glands, others may simply want to protect their recipe from being duplicated by the competition.
“Natural flavorings” have been listed on everything from Quaker Oat Bran Cereal to butter spreads and everything in between. I say this because you could honestly make yourself nuts over what’s lurking around in your packaged food and drink.
Rather than getting overly obsessed about it, avoid purchasing a lot of pre-packaged, processed foods and for the ones you really love, call the company.
While companies do not feel they have to divulge the specifics of their natural flavorings, I do think they should state whether the natural flavoring is from a plant or an animal or something synthetic.
But, if a business truly feels if it takes something weird to give something a flavor, close your doors and get a life.
To learn more about Hesh, listen to and read hundreds of health related radio shows and articles, and learn about how to stay healthy and reverse degenerative diseases through the use of organic sulfur crystals and the most incredible bee pollen ever, please visit www.healthtalkhawaii.com, or email me at [email protected] or call me at (808) 258-1177. Since going on the radio in 1981 these are the only products I began to sell because they work.
Oh yeah, going to www.asanediet.com will allow you to read various parts of my book – “A Sane Diet For An Insane World”, containing a wonderful comment by Mike Adams.
In Hawaii, the TV stations interview local authors about the books they write and the newspapers all do book reviews. Not one would touch “A Sane Diet For An Insane World”. Why? Because it goes against their advertising dollars.